ARE 5.0 Launches November 1

ARE Launch Update
Jenny Kawecki

Jenny Kawecki

Content Producer, NCARB

Ready to transition to the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) 5.0? Mark your calendars for November 1, 2016, the official launch date of the updated exam. Once the exam launches, you’ll be able to log in to My NCARB, self-transition your eligibilities to ARE 5.0, and make an appointment to take an ARE 5.0 division. ARE 5.0 will incorporate new testing technologies and feature a format that more closely aligns with modern practice. The six-division exam will include case studies that simulate real-world practice, and will be offered without a fee increase. 

The exam content has been reorganized into six divisions, which are designed to reflect the phases of architectural practice—from practice management to construction and evaluation. The new divisions also align with the experience areas of the Architectural Experience Program® (AXP®), making the licensure process smoother and easier to understand for candidates. You can learn more about the new division structure with our in-depth blog series.

Incorporating the Latest Testing Technology

The new exam will retire vignettes and incorporate two new question types: hot spots and drag-and-place. ARE 5.0 will also include case studies to assess a candidate’s ability to synthesize multiple pieces of information. Each ARE 5.0 division will feature 80 to 120 questions comprised of these new question types, plus multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, and fill-in-the-blank questions.

We carefully develop the ARE in conjunction with hundreds of practicing architects who volunteer their time, services, and expertise to write, test, and analyze the exam. The ARE is then reviewed by experts who verify the questions are fair, reliable, and in compliance with national testing standards. 

Preparing Candidates for ARE 5.0

Stay tuned, as we plan to release the ARE 5.0 Guidelines and a handbook that will help candidates prepare for ARE 5.0 this summer (think late July or early August). Between July and the launch of ARE 5.0, we'll also launch an online community focused specifically on preparing for ARE 5.0 divisions. 

Once ARE 5.0 launches on November 1, 2016, you can decide when to self-transition to the new exam and make an appointment to begin testing. We’ll continue to administer ARE 4.0 until June 30, 2018. This 20-month period of dual delivery will enable you to finish the exam in a way that best suits your needs. Not sure what plan is best for you? Our interactive Transition Calculator can help you figure out which testing strategy best fits your current situation—helping you finish the ARE in as few divisions as possible.

Still have questions? Visit to learn more about ARE 5.0.

comments powered by Disqus